Home Sports Wrestlers Pick Up Two Wins On Senior Night

Wrestlers Pick Up Two Wins On Senior Night

EP Senior Wrestlers, (l-r) Nick Ballard, Elijah Friedrichsen, Jacob Otten, Andrew Bomleny, Dylan Chandler

Results Courtesy Coach Brian Buri, Photos Courtesy Jessie Otten

With almost a full lineup after coming off a Covid pause, the EP Wrestling team celebrated Senior Night grabbing two TRAC wins defeating Monmouth-Roseville and Mendota.

Five seniors were honored before the meet: Elijah Friedrichsen, Dylan Chandler, Nick Ballard, Andrew Bomleny, and Jacob Otten.

In nine contested matches against M-R the Panthers collected seven wins including five by fall. EP’s Alex Bomleny wrestling at 145# had the most exciting match of the evening coming from behind to win in overtime.

The Panthers had just four matches with Mendota winning three of the four by fall. Grace Friedrichsen wrestling at 145# for the Panthers excited the crowd with her win by fall over Kailyn Jezewski in 3:26. Several of the Panther female wrestlers saw action both in varsity and exhibition matches with Mendota bringing three female wrestlers to the meet.

Next week Aroundptown.com will feature the eight females that are part of the Panther wrestling team this season.

The Panthers will travel to Kewanee on Saturday to take part in the Kewanee Invitational.

EP 54 – MR 18

Started at 195

106: Caleb Dillard – MR, fall, Jaelin Hawkins – EP, 0:34

113: Wyatt Goosens – EP, fall, Liam Spears – MR, 0:42

120: Jacob Gibson – EP, forfeit

126: Parker Rangel – EP, forfeit

132: Aiden Jepson – EP, fall, Elijah Sang – MR, 2:43

138: Victor Bonnell – EP, fall, Maverick Lee – MR, 1:04

145: Alex Bomleny – EP, dec, Randy Lamb – MR, 9-7

152: Double forfeit

160: Jay Raymond – MR, fall, Ethan Adams – EP, 0:27

170: Kole Hume – MR, forfeit

182: Luke Otten – EP, maj dec, Andrew Gunn – MR, 15-2

195: Andrew Bomleny – EP, fall Curtis Blackman – MR, 0:58

220: Nick Ballard – EP, forfeit

285: Elijah Friedrichsen – EP, fall, Gavin Bell – MR, 1:25

EP 66 – Mendota 12

Started at 220

106: Jaelin Hawkins – EP, forfeit

113: Wyatt Goosens – EP, fall, Cadence Thornton – M, 1:20

120: Jacob Gibson – EP, forfeit

126: Dylan Chandler – EP, forfeit

132: Victor Bonnell – EP, forfeit

138: Aiden Jepson – EP, fall, Jose Hermosillo – M, 2:41

145: Grace Friedrichsen – EP, fall, Kailyn Jezewski – M, 3:26

152: Lea Turner – M, forfeit

160: Double forfeit

170: Jose Belmonte – M, fall, Ethan Adams, 2:36

182: Jacob Otten – EP, forfeit

195: Andrew Bomleny – EP, forfeit

220: Nick Ballard – EP, forfeit

285: Elijah Friedrichsen – EP, forfeit 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here